League Update: NCLM Board of Directors Selected at CityVision 2021

Alexander, Neisler, and Harris to Lead Organization Over Next Year.

Salisbury Mayor Karen Alexander will lead the N.C. League of Municipalities as president over the next year, following her election at this year’s CityVision Virtual Summit.

Alexander was chosen by representatives from cities and towns across North Carolina via electronic vote held over several days. Joining Alexander as officers for the organization are Kings Mountain Mayor Scott Neisler and Fuquay-Varina Town Commissioner Bill Harris, first and second vice presidents, respectively, and Cary Town Council Member Jennifer Robinson as immediate past president.

Alexander’s selection as president follows her service on the Salisbury City Council since 2013. She is now serving her second term as mayor. The president of KKA Architecture, Alexander has served on numerous civic, charitable, and business-related boards, and has also been a guest lecturer at several universities in her capacity as an architect.

In her remarks at CityVision, Alexander encouraged her fellow municipal officials to bring people together and seek common purpose as they address challenges in their communities.

“We can and must, as an organization, find ways to address the challenges that we face in wholistic ways, by involving community partners and pulling everyone together to row in the same direction,” Alexander said.

League Executive Director Paul Meyer said Alexander’s background and commitment will serve NCLM well.

“We are fortunate to have public servants like Karen Alexander, who bring such a diversity of perspective to the role of mayor, and now will be doing the same as our organization’s president,” Meyer said.

2021–22 NCLM Board of Directors

President, Karen Alexander, Mayor, Salisbury
First Vice President, Scott Neisler, Mayor, Kings Mountain
Second Vice President, William Harris, Commissioner, Fuquay-Varina
Immediate Past President, Jennifer Robinson, Council Member, Cary
League District 1, Mayor Don Kingston, Duck
League District 2, Council Member Brian Jackson, Jacksonville
League District 3, Mayor Walter Eccard, Shallotte
League District 4, Mayor Jody McLeod, Clayton
League District 5, Mayor Pro Tem Carl Ferebee, Roanoke Rapids
League District 6, Council Member Satish Garimella, Morrisville
League District 7, Alderman Sona Cooper, Spring Lake
League District 8, Commissioner Melinda Bales, Huntersville
League District 9, Mayor Neville Hall, Eden
League District 10, Council Member Nellie Archibald, Wilkesboro
League District 11, Council Member Phyllis Harris, Mount Holly
League District 12, Mayor Lynda Sossamon, Sylva
At Large, Mayor Don Hardy, Kinston
At Large, Mayor Ian Baltutis, Burlington
At Large, Council Member Doug Matheson, Blowing Rock
Manager, Andrew Havens, Town Manager, Duck
Manager, Bob Boyette, City Manager, Marion
Manager, Jeffrey Repp, City Manager, Boiling Spring Lakes
Clerk, Melissa Capps, City Clerk, Goldsboro
Attorney, Kimberly Rehberg, City Attorney, Durham
Undesignated Affiliate Rep., Chris Beddingfield, NC Assoc. of Police Chiefs, Biltmore Forest
Undesignated Affiliate Rep., David Phlegar, SWANC, Greensboro
Charlotte, Council Member Larken Egleston, Charlotte
Durham, Council Member Mark-Anthony Middleton, Durham
Fayetteville, Council Member Johnny Dawkins, Fayetteville
Greensboro, Council Member Sharon Hightower, Greensboro
Raleigh, Council Member Nicole Stewart, Raleigh
Winston-Salem, Council Member Jeff MacIntosh, Winston-Salem
President’s Appointment, Mayor Bill Dusch, Concord
President’s Appointment, Martha Sue Hall, Albemarle
President’s Appointment, Council Member Owen Thomas, Lumberton